Laurens County Transportation Commission (CTC)


The Laurens County Transportation Commission is appointed by the Laurens County Legislative Delegation. Members serve at the pleasure of the County Legislative Delegation or until a letter of resignation is received by the County Legislative Delegation. It is considered as a partnership between the South Carolina Department of Transportation and Laurens County that determines and funds local transportation projects and improvements to state and county roads.

The actual “C-fund” monies come from the State Gasoline Tax that is collected by the State Department of Revenue and then allocated to the South Carolina Department of Transportation for distribution to the Counties based on population and road mileage.  The funds must be used for repairs, maintenance and improvements to the roadways.

The County Transportation Committee collects data throughout a given year and then will ride the roadways in question to determine and rate the actions needed to be taken.


  • Bo Curry, Chairman
  • Joe Culbertson, Vice Chairman
  • Charlotte Strickland, Treasurer
  • Jerome Kenneth Jay, III
  • James Potts
  • Dale Taylor
  • Donna Whitlock

Staff Liaison

Billy Wilson –


All meetings are scheduled for every fourth Thursday at 2:00 P.M. at the Hillcrest Judicial / Services Complex – Administration Building;  at Hillcrest Square, unless changed by the committee. The November and December dates are subject to cancellation due to the holidays.  The agenda for each meeting will be posted on the website each month. Proposed dates for the calendar year are as follows: