

# MINUTES LAURENS COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION February 21st, 2023 LAURENS COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING CONFERENCE ROOM

Commission Members: Ed Burns, Sylvester Grant, Casey Robinson Bobby Smith, Abney Smith, Michael Floyd, Vacant Seat

February 21st, 2023

<u>Commissioners Present</u>: Bobby Smith, Ed Burns, Abney Smith, and Tom Robertson. Michael Floyd joined the meeting later.

Commissioners Absent: Sylvester Grant

Call to Order – Commissioner Ed Burns called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

Invocation- Commissioner Bobby Smith

<u>Pledge of Allegiance-</u> Commissioner Ed Burns lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Swearing In-</u> New commissioners Tom Robertson and re-appointed commissioners Bobby Smith and Ed Burns were sworn in by the Clerk to Council, Mrs. Cheyenne Noffz.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u> – February 21st, 2023- The agenda was amended by moving the swearing-in of commissioners before the approval of the agenda. The approval of the agenda for February 21st, 2023, was first motioned by Commissioner Bobby Smith, with a second motion by Commissioner Abney Smith.

# Approved 5-0

<u>Approval of Minutes</u> –November 15th, 2022- The approval of minutes from November 15th, 2022, was motioned to approve by Commissioner Casey Robinson and seconded by Chairman Bobby Smith. Commissioner Tom Robertson abstained due to not being on the Planning Commission at the time of the meeting.

# Approved 4-0-1

Nomination(s) and vote for Chairman: Public Works Director Dale Satterfield opened the floor for nominations for Chairman. Commissioner Ed Burns nominated Commissioner Bobby Smith for Chairman. Commissioner Tom Robertson seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, Commissioner Abney Smith made a motion to close the nominations; Commissioner Tom Robertson seconded it. Both motions were approved.

### Approved 5-0

<u>Nomination(s)</u> and vote for Vice Chairman: Chairman Bobby Smith opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chairman. Commissioner Abney Smith nominated Commissioner Ed Burns for Vice Chairman. Commissioner Casey Robinson seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, Commissioner Abney Smith made a motion to close the nominations; Commissioner Tom Robertson seconded it. Both motions were approved.

## Approved 5-0

<u>Training Session</u>- Public Works Director Dale Satterfield led the training session.

<u>Swearing-In-</u> Commissioner Michael Floyd was sworn in by the Clerk to Council, Mrs. Chevenne Noffz.

<u>Legal Briefing</u>- Public Works Director Dale Satterfield explained that in the commissioner's binder was a copy of the legal documents and a memo from the county attorney, Mr. Sandy Cruickshanks, explaining the details of the legal brief.

<u>Adjournment</u>- The meeting was adjourned by Chairman Bobby Smith at 6:57 pm with a motion from Commissioner Abney Smith and a second by Commissioner Tom Robertson.

Approved 6-0

Respectfully Submitted,

Cortni Motes, Clerk 3

Laurens County Public Works