The Laurens County Animal Control Advisory Committee was established in 2017 by the Laurens County Council.


The purpose of the Committee is to assist the Laurens County Litter/Humane Department with recommendations to improve overall function of the department. The Committee shall be chaired by the Laurens County Litter/Humane Supervisor. The chairman shall not be a voting member but shall set the agenda for meetings.


The Committee shall consists of seven (7) members appointed by County Council.

The Public Works Director shall appoint a veterinarian of his/her choice with experience in shelter medicine to service for a term of 2 years.


The members of the Committee are appointed by Laurens County Council representing a cross section of Laurens County. Each Council Member shall be entitled to one (1) appointment for four (4) years. An appointee may be from the district of the Council Member making the appointment or from any other area of the county, at the sole discretion of the Council Member making such appointment. The appointee shall be a registered elector residing in Laurens County. Committee Members may succeed themselves. In the event of a vacancy, the Council Member for the unexpired term of the appointee shall fill such vacancy for the unexpired term of the appointee. No compensation.

AppointeeExpiration DateCouncil District
Dr. PierceJune 30, 2021Public Works Director
Ms. Bill Holmes ClarkJune 30, 2021#1 - Younts
Ms. Brittany SchaeferJune 30, 2021#2 - Wood
Ms. Sally BrownJune 30, 2021#3 - McDaniel
Ms. Betty BurnsJune 30, 2021#4 - Patterson
Ms. Joy CulbertsonJune 30, 2021#5 - Carroll
Ms. Natalie HarperJune 30, 2021#6 - Anderson
Ms. Lisa WeeksJune 30, 2021#7 - Pitts

*Note: Appointments are for one (1) year at a time.

2020 Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Useful Links

Litter and Humane Office